बस यूँही……


.
A wonderful evening,
The day’s journey comes to an end.
The golden orb settles down for a night of well deserved rest.
Unlike other travellers, we will certainly meet
This journey will definitely resume after a short span.
.
As I witnessed a glorious recurring miracle, I was reminded of a Tennyson poem that we first were introduced to in school, but grew to fully understand, only much later.
.
Crossing the Bar:
.
Sunset and evening star,
And one clear call for me!
And may there be no moaning of the bar,
When I put out to sea,
.
But such a tide as moving seems asleep,
Too full for sound and foam,
When that which drew from out the boundless deep
Turns again home.
.
Twilight and evening bell,
And after that the dark!
And may there be no sadness of farewell,
When I embark;
.
For though from out our bourne of Time and Place
The flood may bear me far,
I hope to see my Pilot face to face
When I have crost the bar.
.
Alfred, Lord Tennyson
.
The metaphorical allusion is clearly to a different transition and end of a different journey and has so many metaphysical layers. A wonderful, short poem by someone who was so influential in my schooldays and understanding of literature.
.

Sunset

Daily Miracles

Wonders Never Cease

Hopelessly In Love With Nature

10 responses to “बस यूँही……”

  1. Mesmerizing photograph…..

    Indeed…..

    Beautiful words….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. Nature is very beautiful

      Like

  2. Just yesterday I was pointing to the huge orange ball of setting sun and reminded her that it looks so huge when it starts slipping behind the trees and buildinga while driving her home!!! The moon too is beautiful saucer!! Waiting to catch the evening star!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Doctor sahab. Both look bigger at the horizon, and in this particular case, I have used a 2000+ mm telephoto lens. That would explain the size. I was happy that the shrubs are clearly seen against the face of the sun.

      Like

  3. Apratim….

    Liked by 1 person

  4. karunagirishbh Avatar

    सुंदर .

    Liked by 1 person

  5. bahut hi sundar sham ka drashya aur lajwab lines

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Search

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started